For most of us, this pandemic has been one of the most testing times of our lives, and we all feel physically and mentally sick of being trapped within the walls of our house. After getting through such an exhausting and frustrating year, Americans are all set to plan leisure trips within the country to unwind and get in touch with the long-missed travel experiences. However, before planning any such trips, you need to have a brief knowledge regarding the rules and travel restrictions imposed in certain states, as covid-19 continues to exist. In this write-up, we shall have a detailed look at the states that are still holding restrictions for travelers so that you plan the perfect American trip soon.
Here’s a list of some of the states in the U.S.A. that are still under certain restrictions:
While California residents and instructed to avoid going beyond 120 miles from their house unless absolutely necessary, California’s non-residents are discouraged from visiting the state anytime soon. Those who arrive in or return to California from a different state or country are supposed to remain quarantined for at least ten days. The state has advised visitors to check with the local regions’ rules and restrictions well in advance. Apart from that, before visiting San Francisco and Los Angeles cities, ten quarantine days are compulsory. Los Angeles demands all visitors above the age of 16 to fill a form and acknowledge California’s travel advisory set’s terms and conditions. This online form has to be submitted before arriving at the Airport or Union Station. In case the formality is not done on time, a fine of $500 will be charged.
A Travel Declaration and Self-Isolation Document must be submitted by any visitor or even Alaska residents returning from other states. These documents need to go through the travel portal of Alaska. Every passenger should come with the report of their covid test with a negative result. In case any passenger cannot take the test and lacks proof, he/she will be tested at the arrival of the airport itself, and the individual would be permitted to enter only when the tests report negative. This test’s cost is $250 for non-residents of Alaska and is free of charge for its residents. In case the passenger’s test result is found to be positive, he/she will be provided with medical support and will be kept under strict quarantine. As Apart from this, the state also expects tourists to maintain complete social distancing for five days.
People visiting from any of the states, territories, or countries except New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island, or out of the U.S.A. need to self-quarantine for ten days. They also need to submit a health form if they have plans to staying for more than 24 hours in Connecticut. However, the quarantine period can be avoided or shortened if the visitors can provide proof of being covid negative by showing a report of the test that is taken less than 72 hours before arriving. Besides, you may also take a test at the airport. Nevertheless, the visitor has to stay isolated till penned proof of the covid negative result is presented to Connecticut’s Public Health Commissioner. If you test positive for covid-19, medical assistance may be provided, and you will be kept in isolation until you test positive the commissioner office approves of the report.
District of Columbia
If you are traveling to or from a jurisdiction where there are more than 10 cases of covid per 100,000 people, you need to be under quarantine for 14 days. At present, Hawaii is the only state meeting these guidelines. Other than that, there are certain exclusions for close-by Maryland and Virginia. Visitors from every state and territory that is over the threshold are informed about taking a covid test in 72 hours of traveling. In case the test result is found to be positive, the visitor is advised to cancel the trip. Besides, if you have been in immediate contact with a positively tested individual, you are encouraged to avoid the trip. If you plan to stay in Columbia for more than three days, you should get tested within 3-5 days of reaching. Due to the latest events in the U.S. Capitol, some more restrictions are imposed to ensure people’s safety before, throughout, and even after the Presidential Inauguration.
Well, there are not any statewide restrictions concerning travel. However, in Colorado’s Pitkin County, where the famous ski resort town Aspen is established, some rules and regulations had been imposed on December 14, 2020. According to these, any traveler spending a night or more has to fill out an Affidavit of the Pitkin County Traveler. In addition to that, travelers above the age of ten need to present a negative report of covid-19, taken 72 hours before arrival. If that is not possible, the visitors also have an alternative of getting tested after they arrived in Pitkin County. However, they are but required to be quarantined until the result comes out. The preferred test choices are PCR or NAAT; however, antigen tests are also taken into consideration. Lastly, travelers who haven’t taken a test have to stay quarantined for ten days.
New York is offering its visitors an option to avoid the mandatory 10-day quarantine with the help of a set of tests and a short duration of isolation. Visitors who have been out of New York for more than need to show a negative test taken at least three days before they arrive coupled with a three day long quarantine period. Then, the second coronavirus test has to be taken on the fourth day. If it turns out to be negative, the individual is free of quarantine. However, those who left New York for not more than 24 hours need not get tested or stay in quarantine before returning. Still, they need to get tested on their fourth day in New York. Besides, visitants are obliged to fill out a form by the Health Department, and those who fail to stick by these rules will be issued with a fine of up to $10,000.
Well, these were some of the states that have imposed certain rules and restrictions to combat the spread of coronavirus. However, the list doesn’t end here. Other states like New Mexico, Nevada, Delaware, Arizona, Ohio, New Jersey, Maine, and other parts of the U.S.A., also have their unique set of rules, which you need to know before planning a visit. Make sure that you stick to these rules to ensure the safety of yourself and others.